Utterly disgusting! The Leave campaign was AT ABSOLUTELY NO POINT IN TIME about 'unconditional withdrawal'! Leave promised "the easiest DEAL with the EU in history. They will come crawling to us, because we hold all the cards."
Leave did NOT promise
a 'no deal' crash out of the EU. The very concept of 'no deal' was not
mentioned during the whole of campaigning for the 2016 referendum.
'Unconditional
withdrawal' is a hard right, Selfservative and UKIP position and was NOT the
democratic decision of 52% of those who voted! It just WAS NOT! So nobody
should dare equate a 'no deal' crash out of the EU, which I believe the Selfservatives
have wanted all along, with the democratic will of the people.
The MSM (mainstream
media) and the Tory-controlled BBC (all major appointments are made by the
Selfservatives) have made the Brexit debate binary! In/out, yes/no,
black/white. It isn't a binary decision. We live in a world where nuance
exists.
EVERY single piece of
major legislation is based on nuanced compromise. In the USA the stakes are
literally 'You can have some Medicare, if I can have some guns and bombs!' In
the UK and EU, it is a little more subtle, but laws consist of qualifiers and
exemptions and special cases. ALL laws! That is why legalese can be so
frustrating and often barely comprehensible.
As a 'lukewarm
Remainer' (like Jeremy Corbyn), I understand everyone who is angry at or
frustrated with the EU. Most Remainers are critical of the EU and are therefore
often not as passionate as Leavers!
The widespread
influence of the ECB, which is an undemocratic institution, must be completely
eliminated. The cost of moving Parliament between Brussels and Strasbourg every
6 months is simply not justifiable. An organisation which pays Nigel Farage for
years, to systematically undermine it, then gives him a huge pension, is doing
something very wrong!
I question the need
for MEPs and TWO (semi-)permanent EU-Parliaments at all. Why not second SOME
ordinary MPs to work on European issues for 6 months at a time? A deputy can
take over the MPs work.
A 'EU Parliament'
could wander from member land to member land every few months or once a year.
Using technology, much of the work of the 'EU Parliament' could take place via
remote, audio-visual or text communication.
A leaner EU
concentrating only on the core themes where there is broad consensus
(agriculture, energy, environment, health care, law and order and taxation)
could and would work.
Individual members
would have to deal with controversial issues, like immigration, on their own,
which is EXACTLY what happens now! Poland, Bulgaria and at least a dozen (nearer
twenty) other EU members refuse to accept a single migrant. They just refuse
point blank and are able to ‘remain’ EU members.
Odious shit, Nigel
Farage's Brexit campaign was based on the UK not having control over our
borders and fear of an invasion by potential terrorists. He lied! We have had
control of our borders for at least 400 years, many might say since 1066.
Odd that 4 Africans
landing on our shores was treated as evidence of … Evidence of what?! They were
apprehended because we have control of our borders! Is it impossible for individuals
to sneak into the UK? No, of course it isn't, but it is impossible for groups
to sneak in and it is absolutely impossible for them to sneak in AND access the
welfare system!
DON'T allow the mainsteam media (MSM) and BBC to force you into a binary in/out attitude towards Brexit and the EU.
As much as we all love simplicity, we should accept, that Brexit is an incredibly
complex issue.
IF we crash out of the
EU without a deal on March 29th, what happens on March 30th? EU laws governing
worker's rights and regulation of banks will cease to apply.
Which laws will apply?
It isn't clear! Will the Selfservatives say 'EU laws (or equivalents) continue
to apply for one year from now, until we have decided what to do' or will they
take advantage of the lack of EU laws and make the lives of workers more
difficult and let banks do whatever they want in the name of free market
economics or something?
More importantly,
where will our food come from on March 30th and afterwards and where will we
sell our exports? The EU is currently our number one import AND export partner.
We are NOT anywhere
near self-sufficient where food is concerned! We could become self-sufficient,
but it would take huge investment and at least a decade.
We import most of our
food from the EU. No agreements are in place with WTO-partners to offer
alternative sources of food. Liam Fox promised at least 40 WTO deals within
weeks of the Brexit referendum: https://www.businessinsider.de/brexit-liam-fox-will-break-promise-to-sign-40-trade-deals-the-second-after-leaving-2019-1?r=US&IR=T
Last week, Fox was
forced to admit that he has precisely ZERO deals.
Even if WTO-partners
were able to supply us with all the food we need (the USA and Canada will offer
to flood us with their inferior goods – chlorinated chicken? Yummy!), the
transport costs will be more than delivery from the EU, so (possibly inferior)
produce will cost more.
We export most of our
goods to the EU. Do we have contracts in place with WTO-partners to take ALL of
our goods? Er ... ask Liam Fox! The fact that many of our exports are in the
nebulous world of 'financial services' complicates rather than simplifies
things. What if the world realises that they don't need the UK in order to do
business?!
Many banks have
already moved major parts of their businesses from London to the EU. How can
that POSSIBLY be good for us?
Rant over! Please go
ahead and refute any or all of my points. Honestly (channelling my inner Kevin
Keegan) I would really LOVE to be wrong on this!